Archive → Films → The Woman Who Left
Festival in Media
Section: Horizons
Country: Philippines  
Year: 2016


Ang Babaeng Humayo 

227 min, b/w

Director Lav Diaz Screenplay Lav Diaz Cinematography Lav Diaz Editing Lav Diaz Cast Charo Santos-Concio, John Lloyd Cruz

Horacia Somorostro was released in 1997 after being imprisoned for a crime she did not commit. Although Somorostro reunites with her daughter, she learns that her husband is now deceased and her son is missing. She realized that a thing remains unchanged - the power and privilege of the elite. This belief is cemented when Somorostro later found out that her former rich lover, Rodrigo Trinidad was the one who framed her for a crime.

Cinema One Originals
Sine Olivia Pilipinas
International sales:
Films Boutique


Lav Diaz


Lav Diaz was born in Datu Paglas, Philippines. His feature debut The Criminal of Barrio Concepcion (1998) played in the Toronto International Film Festival’s Discovery programme, and his films Evolution of a Filipino Family (2004), Death in the Land of Encantos (2007), Century of Birthing (2011), Norte, the End of History (2013), and From What is Before (2014) also screened at the same Festival.




2016 The Woman Who Left

 2016 Ang araw bago ang wakas (Short)

 2016 A Lullaby to the Sorrowful Mystery

 2015/III Fragment

 2014 Storm Children: Book One (Documentary)

 2014 From What Is Before

 2013 Venice 70: Future Reloaded (Documentary)

 2013 Ang alitaptap (Short)

 2013 Prologue to the Great Desaparecido (Short)

 2013 Norte, the End of History

 2012 An Investigation on the Night That Won't Forget (Documentary)

 2012 Florentina Hubaldo, CTE

 2011 Century of Birthing

 2011 Elegy to the Visitor from the Revolution

 2009 Butterflies Have No Memories (Short)

 2009 Visitors (segment "Butterflies Have No Memories")

 2009 Purgatorio (Short)

 2008 Melancholia

 2007 Death in the Land of Encantos

 2006 Heremias: Unang aklat - Ang alamat ng prinsesang bayawak

 2006 Imahe nasyon (segment "Nang Matapos Ang Ulan")

 2004 Evolution of a Filipino Family

 2002 Hesus, rebolusyunaryo

 2001 West Side Avenue

 1999 Hubad sa ilalim ng buwan

 1999 Burger Boys

 1998 The Criminal of Barrio Concepcion