The Shape of Water
Archive → Films → The Shape of Water
Festival in Media
Section: Horizons
Country: USA 
Year: 2017


The Shape of Water

b&w, color/123 minutes

Director: Guillermo del Toro. Screenplay: Guillermo del Toro, Vanessa Taylor. Cinematographer: Dan Laustsen. Editing: Sidney Wolinsky. Cast: Sally Hawkins, Michael Shannon, Richard Jenkins, Doug Jones, Michael Stuhlbarg, Octavia Spencer.

An otherworldly fairy tale, set against the backdrop of Cold War era America circa 1962. In the hidden high-security government laboratory where she works, lonely Elisa is trapped in a life of isolation. Elisa's life is changed forever when she and co-worker Zelda discover a secret classified experiment.

Double Dare You
World Sales:
Fox Searchlight

Guillermo del Toro

Guillermo del Toro was born in Guadalajara, Mexico, where he studied at the Centro de Investigación y Estudios Cinematográficos. His features include the Festival selections Cronos (1993), The Devil's Backbone (2001), and Pan's Labyrinth (2006), for which he received an Oscar nomination for screenwriting.





1986 Doña Lupe (Short)
1987 Geometria (Short)
1993 Cronos
1997 Mimic
2001 The Devil's Backbone
2002 Blade II
2004 Hellboy
2006 Pan's Labyrinth
2008 Hellboy II: The Golden Army
2013 Pacific Rim
2014 Pacific Rim: Jaeger Pilot Oculus Rift Experience (Video Game)
2014 Silent Hill 10 (Video Game)
2015 Crimson Peak
2017 The Shape of Water