The Forbidden Room (Repeat)
Archive → Films → The Forbidden Room (Repeat)
Festival in Media
Section: Canada 150
Country: Canada 
Year: 2015


The Forbidden Room

color/130 minutes

Director: Guy Maddin. Co-director: Evan Johnson. Screenplay: Maddin, Johnson, Robert Kotyk, John Ashbery, Kim Morgan. Cinematography: Stephanie Weber-Biron, Ben Kasulke. Editing: John Gurdebeke. Cast: Roy Dupuis, Clara Furey, Louis Negin, Celine Bonnier, Karine Vanasse, Caroline Dhavernas, Paul Ahmarani, Mathieu Amalric, Udo Kier, Maria de Medeiros, Charlotte Rampling, Geraldine Chaplin.

A never-before-seen woodsman mysteriously appears aboard a submarine that's been trapped deep under water for months with an unstable cargo. As the terrified crew make their way through the corridors of the doomed vessel, they find themselves on a voyage into the origins of their darkest fears.

Mongrel International, Phi Films, Buffalo Gal Pictures
World sales:
Mongrel International

Guy Maddin

Guy Maddin was born in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. Maddin produced his first film in 1985, and since then his distinctive style of recreating and renovating silent film conventions and international critical acclaim have made him one of Canada's most celebrated directors.







2017 The Green Fog
2016 Seances
2015 The Forbidden Room
2011 Keyhole
2007 My Winnipeg (Documentary)
2006 Brand Upon the Brain!
2003 The Saddest Music in the World
2003 Cowards Bend the Knee
2002 Dracula: Pages from a Virgin's Diary
1997 Twilight of the Ice Nymphs
1992 Careful
1990 Archangel
1988 Tales from the Gimli Hospital


Evan Johnson

Evan Johnson is a writer and filmmaker. He studied film and philosophy at the University of Manitoba. He was discovered by Maddin in 2009.




2017 The Green Fog
2015 The Forbidden Room (co-director)